The Fosters

There’s a new show on Monday nights called The Fosters. The timing was impeccable because I am, admittedly a 90210 junkie. I was 15 years ago and I am now and I was VERY unhappy to learn that the show was done and although I don’t watch much tv, wondered what I would DVR in that Monday night slot to watch later. Enter this show. It’s far to early for me to pass judgement on it but I feel compelled to watch mostly, I think, because I was a foster child off and on as a teenager. I’m curious to see if this show can really depict how children tend to feel in these situations and if I can find a kinship with any of the characters as the show moves forward.

As a foster child, I never felt fully accepted in the homes I was in. More specifically the one I was in long term. I guess it’s hard for some parents not to show favoritism toward there own children over someone else’s, regardless of the circumstances. My stepfather couldn’t either and subsequently I also never felt accepted at home after my first sibling was born. Maybe that’s why I have a hard time feeling accepted anywhere, even now.  I used to think that I would be a good foster parent and that it was something I should do, I guess to balance things out from my past. I’ve learned as a parent that it’s probably not for me. I could definitely erase that favoritism thing but I would become far to emotionally involved and I know that it would take away my ability to think rationally in certain situations, which is often more necessary in fostering situations than “normal” parenting situations.

I have a friend from high school who was my best friend when I was in my long term foster home. That friend is now a foster parent with somewhere around 10 children total that are a combination of birth, adopted and foster children. I sometimes like to think that being my friend was what planted that seed in this person. I guess I’m always looking for little ways I might have changed the world. They seem to provide a loving and compassionate home where each child is indeed treated equally. Those children will be all the better for it.

My kudos to Jennifer Lopez for being the first, that I know of, to pioneer in this direction for family drama. I’m kind of tired of watching spoiled, self-entitled teenagers and young adults on television anyway.

Leave a comment